Special Education is specially designed instruction that addresses the unique needs of children from birth to age 22. Children must meet one of thirteen disability categories defined by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) to be eligible to receive special education services. The disability categories are: 

Emotional Disturbance
Hearing Impairment
Intellectual Disability
Multiple Disabilities
Orthopedic Impairment
Other Health Impairment
Specific Learning Disability
Speech or Language Impairment
Traumatic Brain Injury
Visual Impairment

Early Intervention Services (Ages Birth - 2): Early intervention services are available to children who have disabilities and/or developmental delays through the Riverside County Office Education Infant and Toddler programs. (Click here for their website)

School age (Ages 3 - 22): Students with disabilities and eligible for special education and related services are entitled to a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Services are provided based on a student's Individualized Education Program (IEP).